为有语言障碍的老年客户提供N-400

N-400 适合英语水平低的老年客户

申请人:黄女士
国籍:中国人
申请: N-400,归化
时间: 7个月
挑战:

  • 很老的客户
  • 英语水平低
  • 文化程度低
  • 入籍过程知之甚少

背景介绍

对于许多永久居民来说,尝试入籍过程中最可怕的部分可能是对未知的恐惧。 任何人听到的有关获得绿卡或入籍的尝试都是恐怖故事,其中出现了非常严重的问题,有人的生活被毁了。 人们还听说要通过所有各种入籍要求有多难,他们只是没有进一步研究。 很少有人真正了解要求是什么,他们只是听说这很困难,他们认为成为永久居民就足够了。 而当有语言障碍时,难度似乎更大。 我们的客户黄女士,一位八十多岁的家庭主妇,英语说得不好,她面临着所有这些困难。 虽然害怕入籍,但她决心在美国入籍,因为这就是她现在生活的地方。

黄女士需要找到一家她可以完全相信的律师事务所,他们会竭尽全力让她入籍,于是她找到了 Tsang & Associates。 她听说了我们公司以及我们在这些类型的案件中为客户取得积极成果方面取得的成功,她决定继续努力与我们一起入籍。

成功关键

对黄女士来说幸运的是,我们成功赢得了良好的声誉。 我们从头到尾与客户合作,以确保他们的案件不仅以积极的方式结束,而且能够快速顺利地解决。 许多公司只对简单的案例感兴趣,一种检查所有条件并且似乎注定会成功的案例。 但是,由于我们在对案件进行定制和个性化响应方面拥有丰富的经验,因此我们知道人们在移民方面可以想到的几乎每个流程的来龙去脉。 这些是我们公司之所以能够掌握的交易技巧,是因为我们拥有在众多不同类型案件中努力工作的经验。

第一步总是向客户解释我们为他们的案件做好准备的过程。 我们为客户做的准备工作是全面的。 任何人都可以分发表格供客户填写。 我们通过解释每一步并让我们的客户为在他们的案件中可能出现的一切做好准备,确保我们消除对未知事物的恐惧。 这包括面试准备、翻译服务和文件准备。

其他公司可能会看到黄女士并宣布她的案件太难接受,但我们知道美国公民及移民服务局 (USCIS) 对长期在美国的老年人制定了具体规定一段时间。 具体来说,如果一个人成为美国永久居民超过 20 年并且年满 65 岁,他们就有资格参加以他们的母语进行的入籍测试版本。 美国公民及移民服务局也有规定,人们不需要满足英语语言要求,黄女士也有资格。 最后,由于她的年龄和在美国的时间,黄女士进一步获得了参加更简单版本的公民考试的资格。 通常,测试包括从 100 个潜在问题列表中提取的 10 个问题,因此为了确保您能够通过,一个人需要研究所有 100 个问题,因为其中任何一个问题都可能出现。 黄女士能够参加一项仅从 20 个潜在问题列表中提取的测试,这使得学习要求的难度大大降低。

除了确保她得到法律规定的所有休息时间外,我们还确保她对整个过程感到满意。 我们确保她确切地知道一切将如何发生,她知道她要去哪里以及将要求她做什么,并且她知道她会得到支持。 我们定期为客户提供模拟面试、潜在问题问卷调查和翻译服务等服务。 我们为她的考试提供了一名翻译(如果你不打算用英语参加考试,这是一项要求),并送她去参加面试和考试。

案件成果

黄女士以优异的成绩通过了一切,很快将参加她的入籍仪式。 黄女士的恐惧从她身上消失了,幸福进来了。 她很高兴自己终于在她称之为家的国家入籍。 我们很高兴我们能够帮助她实现这一壮举,尽管路上有所有的自然障碍。

*更改名称以保护客户隐私

N-400 for Elderly Client with Language Barrier

N-400 for Elderly Client with Little English Skills

Applicant: Ms. Huang
Nationality: Chinese
Applying For: N-400, Naturalization
Time: 7 months
Challenges:

  • Very elderly client
  • Low proficiency in English
  • Low education level
  • Little knowledge about the naturalization process

BACKGROUND

Possibly the scariest part of attempting the naturalization process for many permanent residents is the fear of the unknown. All anyone hears about attempts at securing green cards or naturalization is the horror stories, where something goes very wrong and someone’s life gets ruined. People also hear about how hard it is to pass all the various requirements for naturalization, and they just don’t look into it any further. Few get to the point of actually learning what the requirements are, they just hear it is difficult and they think that being a permanent resident is enough to get by on. And when there is a language barrier, the difficulty seems even greater. Our client, Ms. Huang, a more than eighty-year-old housewife who did not speak English well, had all of these difficulties facing her. Although fearful of naturalization, she was determined to become naturalized in the United States because this is where her life was now.

Ms. Huang needed to find a law firm where she could fully trust they would do everything in their power to try to get her naturalized, and that was when she found Tsang & Associates. She heard of our firm and our success with getting clients positive results in these types of cases and she decided to push forward with her attempt at naturalization with us.

KEYS TO SUCCESS

Fortunately for Ms. Huang, our reputation for success is well earned. We work with clients from start to finish to ensure that their cases not only end positively but also resolve quickly and smoothly. Many firms are only interested in easy cases, one that checks off all of the boxes and seems predestined to success. However, because we have so much experience with customized and personalized responses to cases, we know the ins and outs of almost every process one could think of going through in terms of immigration. These are the tricks of the trade our firm has been able to pick up only because we have had the experience of working hard on so many different types of cases.

The first step is always explaining to the client the process that we have for getting them prepared for their case. What we do in terms of preparation for our clients is comprehensive. Anyone can hand out a form for a client to fill in. We make sure that we erase the fear of the unknown by explaining every step and preparing our clients for everything that could possibly come their way during their case. This includes interview prep, translation services, and documentation preparation.

Where other firms might have seen Ms. Huang and pronounced her case was too difficult to take on, we knew that the United States Citizen and Immigration Services (USCIS) has specific provisions in place for elderly people who have been in the United States for long periods of time. Specifically, if a person has been a permanent resident of the U.S. for more than twenty years and is sixty-five or older, they qualify for the version of the naturalization test given in their native language. USCIS also has stipulations where people are not required to meet the English language requirement, which Ms. Huang also qualified for. Finally, because of her age and her time in the U.S., Ms. Huang further qualified for a simpler version of the civics test. Normally, the test consists of 10 questions pulled from a list of 100 potential questions, so to be sure you’re going to pass, a person would need to study all 100 questions because any of them could come up. Ms. Huang was able to qualify for a test that only pulled from a list of 20 potential questions, making the studying requirement much less difficult.

Beyond ensuring that she was given all the breaks that she was legally supposed to have, we made sure she was comfortable with the whole process. We made sure she knew exactly how everything was going to happen, she knew where she was going and what was going to be asked of her, and that she knew she would have support on hand. Regularly we provide services to clients such as mock interviews, questionnaires of potential questions, and translation services. We provided her with a translator for her test (a requirement if you are not going to take the test in English) and sent her on her way to her interview and test.

OUTCOME

Ms. Huang passed everything with flying colors and will take part in her naturalization ceremony very soon. Ms. Huang’s fear drained from her, and happiness came in. She was elated that she is finally naturalized in the country she calls home. We were pleased we were able to help her achieve this feat despite all of the natural barriers in the way.

*Name changed to protect client privacy