证明居住地的N-400 RFE

显示居住证明的RFE后的N-400法案

挑战:申请人:朱莉*
国籍:中国人
案例:入籍,N-400,RFE
挑战:

  • 朱莉出于教育原因在美国境外度过了两年
  • 美国公民及移民服务局要求提供证据证明朱莉没有放弃她的美国居留权

背景介绍

朱莉多年来一直是美国的合法居民,从初中起就和她的姑姑一起住在加利福尼亚。 在她 20 岁的时候,她决定现在是她终于可以成为正式公民的时候了,于是在 2017 年春天,她申请了入籍。 但似乎无缘无故,美国公民及移民服务局拒绝了她的请求,并要求提供她实际居住在美国并且没有放弃居住权的证据。 如果她不能提供这个证明,不仅她的公民身份申请会被拒绝,而且她的绿卡也不会续签,她将被遣返回中国。

绝望和心烦意乱的朱莉向 Tsang & Associates 寻求帮助。 她是模范公民,从不犯法,成绩一直名列前茅,面临拒绝的事实让她非常苦恼。 她什么都做对了,为什么会这样? 朱莉不想失去她在这里建立的生活,她曾经真正知道的唯一生活,我们也决心不让这种情况发生。

成功关键

我们的团队立即着手收集证据,证明朱莉从未放弃她的居住权。 我们提出了几个项目供 USCIS 考虑,包括:

  • 南加州塞拉峡谷学校的成绩单
  • 她的加州驾照
  • 她的永久地址
  • 关于她的法定监护人的文件
  • 2011-2016 年的税表每年将她列为受抚养人
  • 中国初中的成绩单显示她只是为了接受教育。
  • 显示美国居住权的纽约本科课程成绩单。
  • 来自朱莉的美国公民阿姨的一封信,证明她的侄女和她一起生活了多年,并且他们两人建立了密切的联系。

我们还发现,自 2013 年以来,朱莉一直在美国,只是短暂休假,因此符合“4 年零 1 天”的公民申请要求。

即使有所有这些证据,美国公民及移民服务局也不会让步。 他们主要关心的是她14岁时的台湾和日本之行,持续了一年多。 我们的团队有说服力地辩称,这次旅行仅用于教育目的,并不代表放弃居住权。 为了证明这一点,我们指出朱莉在结束时从未申请过工作,并保持家庭关系和在美国的住所 另外,当时她还拿到了回美证,可见她在台湾的时间,在这件事发生的时候,并没有被认为是问题。 最后,我们公司辩称,鉴于所有证据证明她连续 5 年保持居住权,拒绝朱莉公民身份并迫使她重新提交案件是对政府资源的不公正浪费。

案件成果

在考虑了我们提供的证据并听取了我们对朱莉有利的论点后,美国公民及移民服务局让步并最终批准了她的公民身份申请。 朱莉对这个决定欣喜若狂,并立即将这个好消息告诉了她的家人。 她非常感激,终于可以称自己为她所爱的国家的正式公民。

Our website is currently being remodeled. Thank you for visiting us while we continue to improve!
N-400 After Showing Proof of Residency

N-400 After RFE Showing Proof of Residency

Challenges: Applicant: Julie*
Nationality: Chinese
Case: Naturalization, N-400, RFE
Challenges:

  • Julie had spent two years outside of the U.S. for educational reasons
  • USCIS demanded evidence that Julie had not abandoned her U.S. residency

 

BACKGROUND

Julie had been a legal resident in the United States for several years, living with her aunt in California since she was in junior high. When she was 20 years old, she decided that now was the time she could finally become a full citizen, so in the spring of 2017, she applied for naturalization. But for seemingly no reason, USCIS denied her request, and demanded evidence that she was physically residing in the U.S. and had not abandoned her residency. If she could not provide this proof, not only would her request for citizenship be denied, but her green card would not be renewed and she would be deported back to China.

Desperate and distraught, Julie turned to Tsang & Associates for help. She was a model citizen, who had never broken any law and always performed at the top of her class, so the fact that she was facing rejection distressed her greatly. She had done everything right, why was this happening? Julie did not want to lose the life she had built here, the only life she had ever really known, and we were determined not to let that happen either.

 

KEYS TO SUCCESS

Our team immediately set out collecting evidence that Julie had never abandoned her residency. We presented several items for USCIS’ consideration, including:

  • School transcripts from Sierra Canyon School in Southern California
  • Her California driver’s license
  • Her permanent address
  • Documents on her legal guardian
  • Tax forms from 2011-2016 listing her as a dependent each year
  • Transcripts from junior high school in China that shows she was only there for education.
  • Transcripts from undergrad courses in New York showing US residency.
  • A letter from Julie’s US citizen aunt testifying that her niece had lived with her for years and that the two of them had developed a close bond.

We also showed that ever since 2013, Julie had been physically present in the United States, only leaving for short vacations, thus meeting the “4 years and 1 day” requirement for citizenship application.

Even with all this evidence, USCIS would not budge. They were primarily concerned about her trip to Taiwan and Japan when she was 14, which lasted over a year. Our team argued persuasively that this trip was only for educational purposes and did not represent an abandonment of residency. To demonstrate this, we pointed out that Julie never applied for employment while over, and maintained family relationships and an abode in the U.S. In addition, at the time, she was granted a re-entry permit, which shows that her time in Taiwan was not considered a problem when it happened. Finally, our firm argued that it would be an unjust waste of government resources to deny Julie citizenship and compel her to refile her case, given all the evidence proving that she maintained residency for 5 years straight.

 

OUTCOME

After considering the evidence we presented and hearing our argument in Julie’s favor, USCIS relented and eventually granted her request for citizenship. Julie was ecstatic at the decision and immediately told her family the good news. She was so grateful that she could finally call herself a full citizen of the country she loved.